Coverart for item
The Resource Island of a thousand mirrors : a novel, Nayomi Munaweera

Island of a thousand mirrors : a novel, Nayomi Munaweera

Label
Island of a thousand mirrors : a novel
Title
Island of a thousand mirrors
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Nayomi Munaweera
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka and turned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells the story of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could ask for. As a child in idyllic Colombo, Yasodhara's and her siblings' lives are shaped by social hierarchies, their parents' ambitions, teenage love and, subtly, the differences between Tamil and Sinhala people; but the peace is shattered by the tragedies of war. Yasodhara's family escapes to Los Angeles. But Yasodhara's life has already become intertwined with a young Tamil girl's... Saraswathie is living in the active war zone of Sri Lanka, and hopes to become a teacher. But her dreams for the future are abruptly stamped out when she is arrested by a group of Sinhala soldiers and pulled into the very heart of the conflict that she has tried so hard to avoid - a conflict that, eventually, will connect her and Yasodhara in unexpected ways. In the tradition of Anil's Ghost and The God of Small Things, Nayomi Munaweera's Island of a Thousand Mirrors is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage, heartbreaking conflict and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettably authentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, it offers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficult moment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things to come"--
Summary
Traces the experiences of two women on opposing sides of the Sri Lankan civil war who connect in unexpected ways when a Tamil aspiring teacher is arrested by soldiers and placed in the path of a young woman from a loving Sinhala family
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
Commonwealth Book Prize: Asia, 2013.
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10187945
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Munaweera, Nayomi
Dewey number
823/.92
Illustrations
  • maps
  • genealogical tables
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9440.9.M865
LC item number
I75 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Female friendship
  • Families
  • Tamil (Indic people)
  • Sinhalese (Sri Lankan people)
  • Ethnic conflict
Target audience
adult
Label
Island of a thousand mirrors : a novel, Nayomi Munaweera
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
"First published in Sri Lanka in 2012 by Perera Hussein Publishing House."--Title page verso
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn865158187
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First U.S. Edition.
Extent
242 pages
Isbn
9781250043931
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2014016826
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
map, genealogical table
System control number
(OCoLC)865158187
Label
Island of a thousand mirrors : a novel, Nayomi Munaweera
Publication
Copyright
Note
"First published in Sri Lanka in 2012 by Perera Hussein Publishing House."--Title page verso
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn865158187
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First U.S. Edition.
Extent
242 pages
Isbn
9781250043931
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2014016826
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
map, genealogical table
System control number
(OCoLC)865158187

Library Locations

    • Greenwood County Library System / Main BranchBorrow it
      600 South Main St, Greenwood, SC, 29646, US
      34.186730 -82.16004
Processing Feedback ...